Skip Navigation

Planning & Zoning Commission

The Planning and Zoning Commission makes decisions or recommendations to the City Council regarding the Comprehensive Plan, Development Code, zoning regulations, long-range planning, zoning changes, platting, and other development-related policies as required or permitted by State law or city ordinance.

City Board Application - (Click here for Application)

City Board Re-Application - (Click here for Re-Application)


Meets on the 3rd Tuesday of the month (as needed) at 6:30 pm.

Place  Member  Term Expiration
Place 1 Don Riley October 1, 2019
Place 2  Sherrie Kubala Watkins  October 1, 2020
Place 3  Jeannie Turley  October 1, 2019
Place 4  Patty Biggers  October 1, 2020
Place 5  Troy Jones October 1, 2019
Place 6  Diane Smith  October 1, 2020
Place 7  Coy Pennington October 1, 2019

Membership and Appointment 

The Commission shall be composed of seven (7) qualified electors of the city.  The city council will consider for appointment to the commission only those persons who have demonstrated their civic interest, general knowledge of the community, independent judgment, interest in planning and zoning and an availability to prepare for and attend meetings.  In addition, all appointees shall have resided in the city for at least two (2) years prior to appointment.  It is the intent of the city council that members shall, by reason of diversity of their individual occupation, constitute a commission which is broadly representative of the community.  A member of the commission shall not serve simultaneously as a member of the board of adjustment.

Terms of Office
The members of the commission shall be identified by place numbers one (1) through seven (7). Members in the odd-numbered places shall serve two year terms expiring on October 1st of odd-numbered years and even-numbered places on October 1st of even-numbered years.  Commission members may be appointed to succeed themselves.  Vacancies shall be filled for the unexpired terms. Newly appointed members shall be installed a the first regular commission meeting after their appointment.

Meetings and Quorum 
A quorum for the conduct of business shall consist of four (4) members of the commission.  The members of the commission shall regularly attend meetings, public hearings, and work sessions of the commission and shall serve without compensation, except for reimbursement of authorized expenses attendant to the performance of their duties.  The members shall comply with the statutory time limits and public notice requirements and all meetings of the commission shall be held in compliance with the Texas Open Meetings Act.

Planning and Zoning Commission- City Code excerpt.

Visitor InformationElections InformationParks and RecreationJob OpeningsPolice DepartmentBudget and Taxes

Copyright © 2016 - Lake Worth, Texas. USA

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM